Edublog Assignment #3

martas-shadowbox

 

I live in Oakland California. Oakland is a place where lots of different people live in. I would describe myself as an independent person because I most of the time work by myself or do other things by myself. I describe myself as a good daughter because I am the daughter that is with my mom always. Some of the aspects of my identity is that I like nature, I love my ethnicity, and most important I love my family.

 

To begin with, Dominant Narrative means when someone is saying things about people that are not true. One Dominant Narrative about me is that us women are suppose to follow the rules of men. Another dominant narrative about me is when people tell me that i’m mexican just by the way I look. These images affect me when people tell me these things and letting me show that is not true by achieving what I want to and showing how I am.

 

Another kind of narrative is the Counter Narrative. A Counter Narrative is when people that are being used by dominants and trying to state the real fact. One Counter Narrative I used was an image of women being whatever we want and not be manipulated by men. This image makes me feel happy because it is true that us women can be whatever we want and not be used by anybody.

 

Also, Identity is something that you identify or present yourself. An Identity image is an image to describe yourself. One identity image I used to identify myself is an image of a road trip. I choose that image because I like road trips and especially with my family. This image makes me think about my road trips.

 

Finally, people might see me as a person that likes to be free. If people really knew me, they would know that I am not what they think I am. It is important to correct the Dominant Narrative about myself with a Counter Narrative so people can know the truth about what people say about me. Something I learned while studying Identity, and the Dominant and Counter Narratives is that Identity is something to show how you are and the Dominant and Counter narratives can also show who you really are.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *